News: Leeroy Stagger Named Roots Solo Artist of The Year at 2018 WCMAs


Leeroy Stagger – 2018 Roots Solo Artist of The Year
Victoria’s Leeroy Stagger was named Roots Solo Artists of The Year at the 2018 Wester Canadian Music Awards held at the Laurel Packing House in Kelowna Thursday October 11, 2018. Stagger was also nominated for Recording of The Year.

Other Victoria artists nominated for awards included Jesse Roper, Astrocolor, Michael Kaeshammer, Steve Bays, Moka Only, Band of Rascals and Victoria Guitar Trio.

Industry awards will be handed out Saturday, October 13th at an industry awards brunch.

The Western Canadian Music Awards is part of the 2018 BreakOut West music festival and conference.

Full Awards Winners list:
Blues Artist of the Year
The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer – BC

Children’s Artist of the Year
Fred Penner – MB

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year
Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra – MB

Classical Composition of the Year
Jocelyn Morlock – BC

Country Artist of the Year
Jess Moskaluke – SK

Electronic/Dance Artist of the Year
The Funk Hunters – BC

Francophone Artist of the Year
Alexis Normand – SK

Indigenous Artist of the Year
Celeigh Cardinal – AB

Instrumental Artist of the Year
Apollo Suns – MB

Jazz Artist of the Year
Rubim de Toledo – AB

Metal/Hard Music Artist of the Year
Striker – AB

Pop Artist of the Year
Dear Rouge – BC

Producer of the Year
Ryan Worsley, Echoplant Sound – BC

Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year
Snotty Nose Rez Kids – BC

Rock Artist of the Year
Scenic Route to Alaska – AB

Roots Duo/Group of the Year
The Dead South – SK

Roots Solo Artist of the Year
Leeroy Stagger – AB

Songwriter(s) of the Year
Dear Rouge, Dear Rouge, Chains – BC

Spiritual Artist of the Year
Stephanie Ratcliff – BC

Urban Artist of the Year

Video Director of the Year
Stefan Berrill, Brass Tacks Films, The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer, Forever Fool – BC

Visual Media Composer of the Year
Keri Latimer, This is Not Paris – MB

World Artist of the Year
Kelly Bado – MB