News: 2017 Western Canadian Music Awards Nominees Announced


BreakOut West has announced the nominees for the 2017 Western Canadian Music Awards. This year’s awards ceremonies will take place in Edmonton, Alberta during the 15th annual BreakOut West Wednesday September 13 to Sunday September 17, 2017.

A number of Victoria artists and nominees with Victoria connections are on the list including Kytami, Quinn Bachand’s Brishen, Michael Kaeschammer and and the sound engineer for JP Maurice. We have tried to note each one in italicss. If we have missed anyone, let us know.

2017 Western Canadian Music Awards Nominees:
Blues Artist of the Year
Big Dave McLean (MB)
Harpdog Brown (BC)
James Buddy Rogers (BC)
Ryan McNally (YT)
Steve Kozak Band (BC)

Children’s Artist of the Year
Ginalina (BC)
Madame Diva et Micah le Jeune Voyageur (MB)
Stella Swanson and the Rosie Joyfuls (BC)
The Oot n’ Oots (BC)
Will Stroet (BC)

Classical Composition of the Year
“Magnetic North” – Carmen Braden (NT)
“Pots ‘n Pans Falling” – Edward Top (BC)
“Immersion” – Jordan Nobles (BC)
“Raven Tales” – Marcus Goddard (BC)
“Choir Practice, A Comic Opera in One Act” – Stephen Chatman (BC)

Electronic/Dance Artist of the Year
Esette (AB)
I M U R (BC)
iskwé (BC)
Kytami (BC)

Indigenous Artist of the Year, presented by Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN)
Blue Moon Marquee (AB)
Cindy Paul (AB)
Indian City (MB)
Jade Turner (MB)
Jay Gilday (AB)

Jazz Artist of the Year
Al Muirhead (AB)
Michael Kaeshammer (BC)
Quatuor André Lachance (BC)
Quinn Bachand’s Brishen (BC)
Steve Kirby’s Oceanic Jazz Orchestra (MB)

Pop Artist of the Year
Andy Shauf (SK)
Dear Rouge (BC)
Jocelyn Alice (AB)
Ruth B (AB)
The Zolas (BC)

Rap/Hip Hop Artist of the Year
Factor Chandelier (SK)
Merkules (BC)
Snak The Ripper (BC)
The Lytics (MB)

Rock Artist of the Year, presented by Radio Starmaker Fund
Dan Mangan (BC)
Mobina Galore (MB)
Scenic Route to Alaska (AB)
The Matinée (AB)
The Pack AD (BC)

Roots Solo Artist of the Year
Corb Lund (AB)
Jen Lane (SK)
Joe Nolan (AB)
Maria Dunn (AB)
Sarah Jane Scouten (BC)

Spiritual Artist of the Year
Heritage Hill (BC)
Jaylene Johnson (MB)
Jon Bauer (AB)
Steve Bell (MB)
Warren Dean Flandez (BC)

Video Director of the Year
Alek Rzeszowski – Yes We Mystic “No Harm” (MB)
Anthony Creech – Andino Suns “Aire Libre” (SK)
Brandon Fletcher – Nuela Charles “Crumbling Down” (BC)
Dylan Roberts – King Dylan “Untouchable” (AB)
Zach Wilson – The Dead South “In Hell I’ll Be In Good Company” (SK)

World Artist of the Year
Andino Suns (SK)
Casimiro Nhussi (MB)
Jocelyn Petit (BC)
Kelly Bado (MB)
Papa Mambo (MB)

BreakOut Artist of the Year, presented by CKUA Radio Network
Andy Shauf (SK)
Begonia (MB)
Dan Davidson (AB)
The Harpoonist & The Axe Murderer (BC)
William Prince (MB)

Classical Artist/Ensemble of the Year, presented by Canadian Music Centre
Alan Rinehart (BC)
Daniel Janke (AB)
duo corvi (BC)
Standing Wave (BC)
Vancouver Intercultural Orchestra & Laudate Singers (BC)

Country Artist of the Year, presented by Dauphin’s Countryfest
Aaron Pritchett (BC)
Dan Davidson (AB)
Doc Walker (MB)
Madeline Merlo (BC)
The Washboard Union (BC)

Francophone Artist of the Year
Alpha Toshineza (MB)
Ariane Mahrÿke Lemire (AB)
Kelly Bado (MB)
Ponteix (SK)
Shawn Jobin (SK)

Instrumental Artist of the Year
Adam Dobres (BC)
Five Alarm Funk (BC)
Fond of Tigers (AB)
Kent Sangster’s Obsessions Octet (AB)
The Fretless (BC)

Metal/Hard Music Artist of the Year
All Else Fails (AB)
Black Thunder (SK)
Soul Mates (SK)
Striker (AB)
Untimely Demise (SK)

Producer of the Year, presented by Nimbus School of Recording & Media
Andy Shauf – Andy Shauf ‘The Party’ (SK)
Clayton Bellamy – The Dungarees (AB)
Jesse Gander – The Pack AD ‘Positive Thinking’ (BC)
Jesse Zubot – Jesse Zubot/Fond of Tigers (BC)
Russell Broom – Rebecca Lappa/David Bradford/JP Maurice/The Static Shift (AB)

Recording of the Year
Andy Shauf – The Party (SK)
Big Little Lions – Just Keep Moving (BC)
Dear Rouge – Black to Gold (BC)
Scenic Route to Alaska – Long Walk Home (AB)
The Zolas – Swooner (BC)

Roots Duo/Group of the Year
100 Mile House (AB)
Big Little Lions (BC)
Kacy & Clayton (SK)
Karrnnel Sawitsky & Daniel Koulack (SK/MB)
The Bills (BC)

Songwriter(s) of the Year, presented by The Society of Composers, Authors, and Music Publishers
Andy Shauf – “The Magician” (SK)
Corb Lund – “Washed-Up Rock Start Factory Blues” (AB)
Sam Tudor – “Joseph In The Bathroom” (BC)
The Zolas – “Swooner” (BC)
Alexa Dirks (Begonia) & Matt Schellenberg – “Juniper” (MB)

Urban Artist of the Year
Damian La Grange (AB)
DGS Samurai Champs (SK)
Nuela Charles (AB)
Sophia Danai (BC)

Visual Media Composer of the Year, presented by Green Sky Labs Inc.
Factor Eight – “The Lion” (SK)
James Murdoch – “Fishcamp Soundtrack” (AB)
Jared Robinson – “Music is a Part of All Our Lives” (SK)
Matthew Schellenberg – “Lovesick” (MB)
Mitch Dorge – “The Advocate” (MB)

2016 Western Canadian Music Awards Industry Nominees:
Audio Engineering Award
Russell Broom – JP Maurice, Amy Metcalfe, Chixdiggit (AB)
Ryan Worsley – Said The Whale, Courage My Love, Derrival (BC)
Sheldon Zaharko – Plans & Disguises, Head, Ajaye Jardine (BC)
Spencer Cheyne – Jocelyn Alice, Ruben Young, Hello Moth, Al Muirhead (AB)
Steve Bays – The Zolas, We Are The City, Leeroy Stagger, Hot Hot Heat (BC)

Community Excellence Award
Fire Aid Organizing Committee – Fort McMurray Benefit Concert (BC)
Sunshine House (MB)
The Dungarees (AB)
The Exchange (SK)
West End Cultural Centre (MB)
Winnipeg Folk Festival (MB)

Excellence in Visual Design
Adin Wridgway – tune silo records (BC)
Bronwin Parks – Feisty Creative (BC)
Jared Robinson – Nebulus Entertainment (SK)
Matt Schuurman (AB)
Renée Mak (BC)

Impact in Artist Development
BOP Management & Consulting (AB)
Paquin Artist Agency (MB)
Prairie Mix (MB)
Sakamoto Agency (AB)
Tonic Records (BC)

Impact in Live Music
Festival du Voyageur (MB)
Rawk Entertainment Group Inc. (SK)
West End Cultural Centre (MB)
UP & Downtown Music Festival (AB)
Winnipeg Folk Festival (MB)

Impact in Music Marketing
Eric Burke – Le 100 NONS (MB)
Kevin Mozdzen – The Park Theatre (MB)
Live Nation Canada (BC)
Pipe & Hat Music Group (MB)
Susan Busse – Susan Busse PR (SK)

2017 Heritage Award
Ken Regan – CKUA Radio Network

2017 Kevin Walters Industry Builder Award
Kirby (posthumously)

2017 Hall of Fame Inductee
Paul Brandt