News: 2015 Vancouver Island Music Awards Winners


Vancouver Island Music AwardsThe 2015 Vancouver Island Music Awards took place at St. Andrew’s Presbyterian Church Saturday March 21, 2015. Here is a list of the award winners along with the other nominees.

2015 Vancouver Island Music Awards Winners
Music Video of the Year:
WINNER: SpeakerfaceVertical
Dave CormierWhat’s my name
AileronPraise the Lord
LozenLife is good
Jesse TurnbullHollow Introductions
Mitra KostamoAfter You’ve Gone
Jonny MillerHome

Producer of the Year:
WINNER: Marc Atkinson for Genevieve and the Wild Sundays – Updraft
John Mang/Sue Medley for Sue Medley – These are the Days
Rob Berges for House of Horses – Revolver
Numbersix for Numbersix – Telekinetic Lovers
Zak Cohen/Dave Cormier for Dave Cormier – Cor-me-eh

Song of the Year:
WINNER: Dope Soda – Bullets
This Day Burns – Mistakes don’t Lie
Little Nectar – In Every Room
Shauna Janz – Redwood
Immaculate – Just Breathe

Group/Duo of the Year:
WINNER: Isobel Trigger
Hub City Ramblers
Dope Soda
House of Horses
Michael Wood Band
Saskia & Darrel
Twin Peaks

Vocalist of the Year:
WINNER: Kim June Johnson
Nathan Senner
Emily Spiller
Pamela Tessman

Artist of the Year:
WINNER: Immaculate
Sue Medley
Dave Cormier
Bobbi Schram
Nick Hornbuckle
Jonny Miller

Roots/Folk Recording:
WINNER: Pamela Tessman – Can Not Explain
Susan Rankin – Pagan Lullaby
West My Friend – When the Ink Dries
Nick Hornbuckle feat. Tina Jones Sparrow
Brodie Dawson – All this Time

Country Recording:
WINNER: Hub City Ramblers – Coming back to you
Genevieve and the Wild Sundays – Farmer ain’t in the Dell
Nathan Senner – Let the Music Play
Jonny Miller – Home
Chris Andres – Destiny

Pop Recording:
WINNER: Kuba Oms – 7 Seconds
Isobel Trigger – Dust and Bones
Ms Maxine & One Wish – This Dish
Close the Bombay Doors – Court Fool

Album of the Year:
WINNER: Irish Rovers – 50
Hub City Ramblers – Coming Back Home to You
Sue Medley & The Back Road Band – These are the Days
The Fretless – The Fretless
House of Horses – Revolver
Kim June Johnson – Canvas and Clay
Bobbi Schram – Window Day

Electronic/Dance Recording:
WINNER: Speakerface feat. Rachel Sermanni – Vertical
Numbersix feat. Emily Spiller – Smoke & Mirrors
Rennie Foster feat. Alfons Fear – Childish Things
Kuba Oms – My Love (club mix)

Rock Recording:
WINNER: Dave Cormier – What’s my Name
House of Horses – Wake Up
Lincoln Foster Band – What’s been going On (with me)
Bowler – Never Know
Spaceport Union – White Noise

Rap/Hip Hop Recording:
WINNER: Aileron – Praise the Lord
Lozen – Life is Good
Prada West – One Time
Immaculate – Just Breathe
Mishap & Phonik Ops – Coloring Outside the Lines

Youth Artist of the Year:
WINNER: Close the Bombay Doors
Sydney Batters
Marvin Thiele